A Different Kind of Crochet

I’m a knitter mostly, but I can crochet. I’ve never gone much beyond the basic stitches but I like crochet because it’s faster than knitting, easier to rip out mistakes, and I only have one live stitch to worry about.

Recently, I was introduced to a new kind of crochet at a knit and crochet group meeting at my local library. I saw this lady crocheting, but she had multiple stitches on her hook. What was this new magical technique? Why it was Tunisian crochet! She demonstrated the simple, easy technique. Wow! This type of crochet made a fabric that looked like knitting but could be created with the ease of crochet. The best of both worlds. I made a mental note to try it at home. And I promptly forgot how to do it. Time for some online videos and library books. In fact, one of the books was so informative that I bought it.

The New Tunisian Crochet by Dora Ohrenstein
The New Tunisian Crochet by Dora Ohrenstein

Now I tend to buy great reference books, flip through them and look at the pictures. This time I wanted to really READ the book and practice the techniques. So I broke into chunks and put the reading and swatch making on my workflow calendar. (See my post “Back to School for Me” for more info about my calendar.)

As I read, I crocheted the swatches to practice the various stitches. This was good practice since I learned that I tended to be very loose on the right edge and very tight on the left edge. Unfortunately, I tend to be a swatch snob. I hate to make swatches because I feel like it’s a waste of time not to mention a waste of my precious yarn. But I kept on making the swatches and all the time kept thinking, “These don’t look anything like the pictures!” Especially the lace swatches. I was committed to finishing my task (it was on the calendar, remember) so I wet blocked the swatches.

Lo, and behold, they DID look like the pictures
Lo, and behold, they DID look like the pictures

So now I have repented and am no longer a swatch snob.

And I feel really good about completing my task. Check out Tunisian crochet. It’s a fun way to play with yarn.

Finished swatches with stitch detail labels.
Finished swatches with stitch detail labels.
Leave a Reply

