Weaving Woes

I was working on a scarf and was nearing the end when the nemesis of every weaver reared its ugly head. A knot in the warp thread! And, of course, the knotted thread was through a hole, not a slot! What to do? I could splice in a new warp thread but that is a lot of work. I kept weaving and when the knot came close to the heddle, I found it would slip through the hole. Phew! I finished weaving the scarf but still had to take care of the knot. That warp thread was looser than the others and I could feel the knot in the fabric. I cut a piece of yarn that I used for the warp that matched the offending thread and using a blunt needle wove it through weft matching the path of the knotted thread. All that remained was to trim the tails of thread and the repair was complete.

The warp thread with the knot pulled out
The warp thread with the knot pulled out
Threading the needle and yarn along side the knotted warp thread
Threading the needle and yarn along side the knotted warp thread
The new yarn is in place
The new yarn is in place
The finished repair
The finished repair
2 thoughts on “Weaving Woes

Leave a Reply

