Tree Bags – Part 2

Well, the holidays have come and gone and it’s time to pack away all the bright shiny baubles and face Old Man Winter.  This is usually a depressing task since the house seems so dark and empty once the decorations are put away.  But this year was different.  This year, I got to try out my newly designed tree bags!  I wrote about them in a previous post, “What’s Happening in the Sewing Room – Tree Bags,” about a month ago.  I was so excited about the bags that I had to quickly put them in the attic or I was liable to undecorate the Christmas trees just to try out the bags!

Well, as luck would have it, the one tree that inspired this sewing project bit the dust.  The bungee cords just couldn’t keep the top section upright so the upper part of my tree had a decided lean to it.  This same tree was losing strands of lights as regularly as the sun rises, so after a few days, I had a pre-lit tree that was only half-lit.  It was time for a new tree.

I wasn’t too concerned with finding a new tree after Thanksgiving and even hoped I might benefit from a sale.  My main concern was making sure the new tree fit in the bag I designed for the old tree.  After a few stops, I found a suitable replacement.  This one was in three parts so I knew it would fit in the bag.  So how did the tree bags work?  I’ll let the pictures tell the story.

The first tree ready to be bagged.  Yes, it IS orange.
The first tree ready to be bagged. Yes, it IS orange.
The bag, zipped open, on the floor.
The bag, zipped open, on the floor.
Insert tree.
Insert tree.

 

Fold the top over.
Fold the top over.

 

All zipped up.  With handles on both ends, I was able to carry this one by myself.
All zipped up. With handles on both ends, I was able to carry this one by myself.

 

Tree number 2. Ready...
Tree number 2. Ready…

 

set...
set…

 

go!
go!

It was so much easier to get the trees in the attic.  I just hooked the handle on the end of a long pole and was able to pull the bag up.  And it only took me twenty years to figure it out!

One thought on “Tree Bags – Part 2

Leave a Reply

