What’s on the Needles…Start, Middle, and End

When I first started knitting about 10 years ago, I would only have one project on the needles at a time.  I would work doggedly until my current project was finished, including blocking, seaming and weaving in all the ends, before I would even consider starting on a new project.  Fast forward and now I find myself having multiple projects going, not only knitting, but spinning and weaving, too.  I guess I get excited about a new project and about a third of the way through, the bloom is off the rose.  Also, as I feel any time spent without knitting in my hands is wasted time, I frequently take a small project along when I know I’ll have to wait, i.e., doctor visits and car repairs.  I did take some knitting to a football game tailgate and was sorry I left it in the car when I went to the game.  Anyway, I have three projects underway right now. The first I’m just starting on.  It’s a child-sized knitted backpack that I will felt once it’s done.  I just have the base and about two rows of the sides done.  I’m using Paton’s Classic Wool in a deep burgundy shade.  The design is mostly a basket weave pattern on the sides, back, and bottom but the front has cables and bobbles.

The backpack in the early stages
The backpack in the early stages

My second project is the “to go” project.  It’s a simple cowl with alternating cable stitches running the length. The pattern is simple enough that I can commit it to memory and don’t have to worry about charts or loosing my place. I’m using Caron Spa which is a silky soft bamboo blend in a taupe gray shade.  It has a slight sheen and is super soft.  Great for wrapping around your neck and keeping out the chill.

Cabled cowl
Cabled cowl

The third project is nearing the end.  It’s a lacy shawl with a beaded border.  This pattern has detailed charts and is intricate, but not hard to do.  I knit this pattern with a thin cotton yarn before and liked the finished product so much I felt compelled to do another one.  I used a silky alpaca lace yarn in an apple green shade.  I bought this yarn for a different project that didn’t work out and just couldn’t find the right pattern for it until now.

Still in progress
Still in progress
Tiny beads peeking through
Tiny beads peeking through
The shawl being blocked.
The shawl being blocked.
The lace pattern is showing through.
The lace pattern is showing through.
Close up of the lace and bead detail
Close up of the lace and bead detail

I always love how blocking lets the beautiful lace pattern emerge.  While I’m knitting it, I feel like I’ve got a “hot mess” on the needles and I’m convinced that I’ve made a thousand mistakes.  Once it’s blocked and the pattern is visible, I can’t find any errors.  I guess a warm bath works the kinks out of knitting just as well as it does people.

Leave a Reply

