Part Three: My Yarn Needs Some Discipline!

OK, I’ve kept you waiting long enough.  The secret to setting the twist is to wash the spun yarn.  It’s as simple as that.  I just place each hank in a pan of warm water with a little fiber rinse solution and make sure it is thoroughly wet.

Here’s that hank of unruly single ply.  A twisty mess!
Here’s that hank of unruly single ply. A twisty mess!
Voila!  It’s nice and straight now after a bath.
Voila! It’s nice and straight now after a bath.

Once I wash all the hanks, then I lay them on a towel and squeeze out the excess water.  They are still pretty wet so I need to hang them up to drip dry.  I’ve put the shower in my guest bath in service as a drying room.  I don’t have to worry about where the water goes.

A broom handle over the shower frame and a few clothes hangers makes a great drying rack.
A broom handle over the shower frame and a few clothes hangers makes a great drying rack.

It takes about two to three days for the yarn to dry completely.

Here’s that same hank of unruly singles after getting a bath.  It’s much more relaxed.
Here’s that same hank of unruly singles after getting a bath. It’s much more relaxed.

My final step in processing the yarn involves placing it back on the swift and winding it onto the spinning wheel bobbin before I wind it into a finished hank.  I do this because the strands like to grab hold of each other in the bath (maybe for security?) and the overall hank shrinks a little.

Winding from the swift to the bobbin.
Winding from the swift to the bobbin.

Then I set the pegs on the swift at the maximum length and wind the yarn from the bobbin back on the swift.  This time I count the number of revolutions, multiply by the maximum length, and divide by 36 to determine the yardage.

A finished skein of yarn.
A finished skein of yarn.
One thought on “Part Three: My Yarn Needs Some Discipline!

  1. When Pam hangs her wet fiber in the smells like a barn yard. It takes a while for the fiber to dry so by now I have got use to smelling and seeing the hanks in the shower and I the smell makes me think I am on a farm.

Leave a Reply

