A Tale of Toe…Or How This Little Piggy Went “Ouch!”

The toe is an unappreciated little fellow.  Sure, we love to decorate their nails and show them off in pretty sandals, but we never truly know how valuable one is until it is out of commission.  And so begins my tale of woe…about a toe…the little pinky; that tiny toe with the crazy little toenail that hardly gets noticed, but is usually the one that we stub, jam, and smash into things.

And that is exactly what I did.  I stubbed my left pinky toe.  It hurt, but oddly, not for very long.  When I looked at my foot, I saw that the toe was angled oddly out to the left.  So I pushed it over back in line with the others and it moved right back out to the left.  “Hmmm,” I said to myself, “that can’t be good.”  When I tried to put weight on my foot, my toe sang out a loud chorus of “Oooouuuucccchhhh!”

P1050981
The poor, bruised pinky toe!

I suspected my toe was broken so I did what any normal person would do, I Googled broken toe.  After looking at the pictures of similarly angled toes, my suspicions were confirmed.  So my next course of action was to Google broken toe treatment.  Treatment consisted mainly of taping the broken digit to its neighbor and keeping weight off the toe.  There were also many frightening stories of toes that needed pins inserted and weeks of splits, casts, and crutches.  So I did what any educated person would do, I used a big Band-aid to tape my pinky toe back in line.  I tried to put on a regular shoe and realized that I couldn’t squeeze my toes inside.  So, I dug out my old cast shoe from a broken foot 16 years ago.  With a couple pairs of socks and the cast shoe, I could get around pretty good.

The next day, I inspected the toe and saw it was turning a lovely shade of blue and purple, extending down onto the top of my foot.  I wasn’t in much pain but thought I should get a second opinion to my Internet medical treatment so I made an appointment to see my doctor.  A few hours later, an x-ray confirmed it was fractured but the treatment was the same; tape it to the others to immobilize it and continue to wear the cast shoe.

So there you have it.  Be kind to your toes or they will have the last laugh.

One thought on “A Tale of Toe…Or How This Little Piggy Went “Ouch!”

  1. That’s the same treatment I had in 1970 after a bad landing from the horizontal bar in gymnastics. Hmmmm…one subject that technology has not improved upon in 43 years 😦 Hope you are better now.

Leave a Reply

