I’m a Real Estate Snob

OK, I’ll admit it.  I’m a real estate snob.  What is that, you say?  Well, while watching house hunting shows on HGTV, I never understood those people who would look at an empty room and say, “What is this room?  I don’t know if it’s a bedroom or a closet?”  I would shout at the TV and say, “It’s whatever you want it to be!  Don’t you have any imagination?  Don’t you have any vision?”  Or I would laugh at the people who looked at a furnished room and said, “Oh, I don’t like this couch!”  My comment was, “You’re not buying the couch!”

I have to eat my words.  After cleaning out my mom’s house and prepping it for sale, I have come to appreciate the value of home staging.  Don’t get me wrong.  I don’t have a problem looking at an empty room and envisioning a use or looking at an occupied home and seeing beyond the clutter.  But this time, I’m an owner looking for a quick sale so I succumbed to the staging gods.  When we finished all the painting, cleaning and hardware updates, I thought the house looked really cute; perfect for a first-time home buyer.  After the stager finished, all I could do was go from room to room and say, “WOW!”

When I was listing the property and looking at the comparable properties, I realized that most shopping for homes is done online.  And a picture is worth a thousand words.  Looking at pictures of properties that were empty made it hard to judge room size.  Looking at pictures of occupied properties made it hard to look beyond the home owner’s furnishings.  The stager knew how to put just enough furniture in a room to allow a buyer to judge the scale and to give him and idea of its use.

Take a look at the pictures and judge for yourself.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A big shout out to Kim and her team from Impressive Home Staging.  You guys really are impressive!

So, was staging worth it?  Since I received a full price offer on the first day the home was listed, I’ll let you be the judge.  And, I’m convinced that the frog sold sold the home!

6 thoughts on “I’m a Real Estate Snob

  1. Wow, incredible weblog structure! How lengthy have you been blogging for?
    you make blogging look easy. The whole look of your website is fantastic,
    as well as the content material!

    1. I’ve been blogging sporadically for about a year, more frequently in the last six months. That you for the complements on my site and content. Write about what you know and what moves you and it will be easy.

Leave a Reply

