Son of Kraken

Well, it was bound to happen.  Go to a couple of fiber festivals and you’ll soon run out of storage.  I thought I had solved my problems when I hung a half-dozen crates on the wall.  (Read my post “Release the Kraken” for an explanation.)  So now I find myself with skeins of acrylic and balls of cotton for my custom knit projects, cones of yarn for weaving, and baskets of yarn for sweaters I want to make for myself and no more storage!

So if you noticed a burning smell recently, it was just those creative wheels turning overtime.  I decided to put some kind of storage on the wall over my closet door.  Up out of the way, but visible and easily accessible.  So, I went in search of some type of crate or basket I could hang on the wall.  I went to Lowe’s, Home Depot, Target, Bed Bath & Beyond, and Office Max.  I found folding, fabric boxes but they were too limp to mount sideways.  I found plastic crates but they were too big to fit between the closet framing and the ceiling.  I found sturdy baskets but they had sloping sides and when hung sideways on the wall, all my stuff would fall out!

I came home defeated but not out of the game.  Then I remembered that I might have a few more crates in the attic only to discover that the ones I thought were in the attic were the ones I had hanging on my wall already!  Then I remembered some wide shelving I had previously used in my office.  Eureka!  In my attic were three six-foot long, twelve inch wide, white melamine boards.  I also found the brackets I had used with the boards.  So a couple of hours later, I had a nice wide shelf mounted on the wall running the length of the room.  And it is already full!

P1050917
My new shelf

I guess my alternatives are to step up production and use up my stash or stop buying yarn and fiber. Yeah, like that’s really going to happen!

 

One thought on “Son of Kraken

Leave a Reply

