Cotton Harvest Soon

Last year’s cotton crop yielded a small sandwich bag of cotton from 2 plants.  I decided to increase my crop for 2012 by planting seeds in various flower beds throughout the yard.  All total, I have about two dozen plants.  This year’s crop has done well with the plants thriving on sunlight and rainfall alone.  I figure they do it all by themselves in the field so they would have to fend for themselves in the flowerbed, too.  I’ve watched the plants closely all summer and seen lots of blooms, lots of bolls, and today, one plant had two bolls open to show off the fluffy, white cotton inside!  Now I have to resist the temptation to pick it too soon.  I found out last year that the longer the cotton stays on the plant, the fluffier it becomes.

2 thoughts on “Cotton Harvest Soon

Leave a Reply

